Queen win at Classic Rock Awards “Reissue of the Year”


Classic Rock Awards logo

Queen Studio Collection

At the Classic Rock Roll of Honour Awards in Tokyo today, Queen won the category

“Reissue of the Year” for their “Studio Collection”, voted for by the fans.

Jeff Beck, Joe Perry and All-Star Band triumph at Classic Rock Awards in Tokyo
11 Nov 2016

Guitar icons team up for Classic Rock Roll Of Honour finale in Tokyo – as Jeff Beck, Def Leppard, ELO, Richie Sambora, Cheap Trick, Yoshiki land top prizes, Def Leppard, Jeff Beck, The Struts and Cheap Trick were among the big winners at the Classic Rock Roll Of Honour today.

The ceremony was held in Japan for the first time ever, with the spiritual home of Sumo wrestling Ryogoku Kokugikan Stadium in Tokyo packed with 8000 rock fans for the star-studded event.

The sold-out crowd watched performances from Jeff Beck, Joe Perry, Rudolf Schenker, Johnny Depp, Phil Collen and Joe Elliott, Richie Sambora and Orianthi, Tesla, Cheap Trick, and a house band made up of Rob and Dean DeLeo from Stone Temple Pilots, Korn drummer Ray Luzier and Tommy Hendriksen of Hollywood Vampires.

Hosted by Megadeth frontman Dave Mustaine, the celebration saw Jeff Beck presented with The Icon award by Led Zeppelin hero Jimmy Page, while Scorpions man Rudolf Schenker presented Richie Sambora with the Classic Songwriter prize.

Def Leppard scooped the fan-voted Album Of The Year prize for their self-titled album and Queen’s The Studio Collection took the gong for Reissue Of The Year, also voted for by the fans.

Jeff Lynne’s ELO were voted Band Of The Year by the fans, while X Japan mainman Yoshiki was named The Asian Icon.

TeamRock Chief Executive Billy Anderson: “Jeff Beck, Cheap Trick, Richie Sambora, Queen, Jeff Lynne’s ELO, Yoshiki and Def Leppard are truly worthy winners and we continue to champion up-and-coming bands, with The Struts taking the Best New Band prize.”

Classic Rock Roll Of Honour 2016 Tokyo winners:

The Showmen: Cheap Trick
Best New Band: The Struts
Classic Songwriter: Richie Sambora
Band Of The Year: Jeff Lynne’s ELO
Reissue Of The Year: Queen – The Studio Collection
Asian Performance: Slot Machine
Japan Next Generation: Band-Maid
Asian Performance: Sarah Geronimo
The V.I.P: Katsuya Kobayashi
Eastern Breakthrough Male Band: One Ok Rock
The Asian Icon: Yoshiki
Album Of The Year: Def Leppard – Def Leppard
The Icon: Jeff Beck