The Queen Collection – Italian Kiosk Releases – Disc 1 reviewed


The Queen Collection

The Queen Collection CD1 – A Kind Of Magic from Italy (2015)

This is the first CD of 21 titles that has been released in Italy only as part of a box set called The Queen Collection. The series is released in conjunction with the Italian TV guide ‘TV Sorrisi e Canzoni’, the biggest selling weekly TV magazine, and each CD/DVD has been issued every week starting in March 2015 with the A Kind Of Magic album. Each CD is packaged in maxi digi-pack format covers with enhanced 32 page booklets that include photos, artwork, lyrics and new sleeve notes. Piano by Mariano Bryner. Thanks to Gary Taylor, Collecting Queen.

The Queen Collection, in Italian kiosks in association with TV Sorrisi e Canzoni (Italian TV guide).

Over 21 weekly issues, The Queen Collection, including all of Queen’s studio albums and CD and DVD live concerts are released in special maxi digipacks with enhanced booklets that include photos, lyrics and info on the history of each album. The first issue, released in kiosks on March 3rd, is “A Kind of Magic and is priced at €9.99. It also includes a free box set in which to collect the series.

This box contains a 32-page booklet with lyrics, vintage photos of the group and the history of each album curated by Greg Brooks, Gary Taylor and Phil Symes. The CDs contain the 2011 remaster 2011 Universal (marked EMI -Virgin), with the exception of Live Killers, 2001 remaster.

The release order is as follows:

1 A Kind of Magic – 03.03.15
2 Innuendo – 10.03.15
3 A Night At The Opera – 17.03.15
4 Made in Heaven – 24.03.15
5 The Game – 31.03.15
6 The Works – 07.04.15
7 News of the World – 14.04.15
8 The Miracle – 21.04.15
9 A Day at the Races – 28.04.15
10 Jazz – 05.05.15
11 Sheer Heart Attack – 12.05.15
12 Live Killers (2CD) – 19.05.15
13 Flash Gordon – 26.05.15
14 Hot Space – 02.06.15
15 Live Magic – 09.06.15
16 Queen – 16.06.15
17 Queen II – 23.06.15
18 Queen On Fire – Live at the Bowl (2CD) – 30.06.15
19 Queen Rock Montreal (2CD) – 07.07.15
20 Hungarian Rhapsody (1DVD) – 14.07.15
21 Live at Wembley Stadium (2DVD) – 21.07.15